Skip to main content
empty space

Our History

Our History

A Brief History

The South Carolina Baptist Brotherhood was founded in 1945. Bro. C. Lee Davis of Anderson, SC was the first President. Since Brother Davis there have been ten Presidents and each has contributed to the growth and the enrichment of the organization. When it was first organized, the organization was known as the Baptist Laymen. In 1978 under the leadership of President W.E. Givens Jr. the name was changed to South Carolina Baptist Brotherhood to include all men of the church. The Junior Brotherhood was also instituted during the tenure of President Givens. The Brotherhood continues to grow by the Grace of God and under the directions of the Holy Spirit.

What is Brotherhood?

One Brother helping another Brother have a closer walk with Christ.

The Purpose of the Brotherhood